VA Announces 2013/2014 Board of Directors

Volunteering Australia (VA) is pleased to announce the appointment of a new Chairman and two new Board Members to help build greater industry engagement and collaboration within the Australian Volunteering sector.

VA welcomes Matt Rutter to the position of VA Board Chairman and would like to thank outgoing Chair, Paul Lynch, for his leadership and dedication to the role.

Matt has been a member of the VA Board serving as Treasurer, providing solid financial, governance and corporate expertise. He brings extensive experience in senior corporate roles and has sat on the board of Volunteering Western Australia since 2008, holding the role of Chairman since 2009.

He has experience on a number of other not for profit boards and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Matt also holds a Bachelor of Business and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment.

VA also welcomes new Board representatives from the ACT and Tasmania: Jane Hayden and Michelle Ewington.

Jane was elected Chair of Volunteering ACT in 2013 following two years as Treasurer and Chair of Volunteering ACT’s Finance and Audit Committee. Jane is the CEO of Lifeline Australia, has extensive experience in the private, public and not for profit sectors and holds several Board Directorships. Prior to joining Lifeline Jane had 20 years’ experience in business and IT consulting to the corporate and Government sectors.

Michelle has been employed by Red Cross for the past 7 years and currently holds the position of National Co-ordinator, Youth Health & Wellbeing. She has experience in Learning & Development and Project Management and co-ordinated a successful youth volunteer program for several years. Michelle now oversees a number of youth focused programs that draw upon the skills and support of volunteers.

Joining Matt, Jane and Michelle are returning VA Board members:

  • Tim Jackson (Chair of Volunteering South Australia and Northern Territory and CEO of the City of Playford)
  • Valerie Hoogstad (Chair, Centre for Volunteering)
  • Robyn Rose (Chair of Volunteering Victoria and Senior Manager of Enterprise Services at Catholic Care)
  • Andrew Coghlan (National Manager, Emergency Management Volunteer Forum)
  • Ross Wiseman (President of Volunteering Queensland)
  • Kevin Thompson (Lead-Workforce, Australian Sports Commission)

VA would also like to thank outgoing members, Dianne Carlos (Chair of Volunteering ACT and CEO of the Department of the Environment) and Frances Healy (Chair, Volunteering Tasmania) for their extensive contributions to the board and tireless efforts on behalf of the organisation.

Looking forward, Mr Rutter says that “it’s an honour and privilege to have been elected to the role of Chairman of Volunteering Australia. VA has undergone a significant transition over the past 12 months. We now have a new strategic plan, a blueprint for the future, a new CEO and relocated our head office to Canberra.

“I would especially like to acknowledge the tireless work of Paul Lynch during this significant time in VA’s history. The legacy of Paul’s leadership is a committed and talented team in Canberra with the backing of a strong and united national network of members. The Board and I look forward to working alongside this passionate group of people to fulfil VA’s mission to lead, strengthen, promote and celebrate volunteering in Australia.”

25102013 Media release VA Announces 2013-2014 Board of Directors